Marriage licenses are obtained from the Clerk of District Court's office located in the Law and Justice Center at 615 South 16th Avenue in Bozeman. The license can be used immediately or within 180 days from the date of application. It is valid in any county within Montana, but not in any other state or country. After the marriage ceremony, the person who performed the ceremony must return the license to the Clerk's office within 30 days for completion. Once it is returned to the couple, the license can be used as proof of name change with
Social Security and in changing the name on a driver's license.
What to Bring to Obtain a Marriage License
(see below for additional requirements if under 18.)
~ Both the bride and groom must appear.
~ Each must show a valid driver's license issued by any state. A valid passport or birth certificate can be used in place of a driver's license.
~ As of October 1, 2007, a rubella blood test is no longer required for a bride between the ages of 18 and 50. The parties may sign an Informed Consent/Waiver of Requirement of Blood Test form. This form is available at the Clerk of District Court’s Office or online at the
MT Dept. of Public Health & Human Services website. If you obtain the form from a source other than the Clerk of District Court, please bring the form with you when applying for your marriage license. If the bride is over the age of 50, no waiver is required.
~ If either party was previously married, the full name of the ex-spouse as well as the exact date of the divorce or death must be written on the application. The dissolution decree or death certificate are not required as proof.
The fee for a marriage license is $53.00 in cash.
Checks, debit cards, and credit cards are not accepted.
A Montana marriage can be solemnized by:
-- Clergy (out-of-state clergy need not be registered in Montana)
-- Judge (or retired judge) of a court of record
-- Public official whose powers include solemnization of marriages
-- Mayor, City Judge, Justice of the Peace
-- Tribal Judge
Download Montana's Marriage Application.
(The form can be filled out on-line and printed or it can be printed and filled out by hand.)
Marriage Licenses for Those Aged 16-18
A person must be at least 16 to marry in Montana.
Follow above requirements with the following additions:
~ Obtain parental permission (they will sign the application form from Clerk's office,
not the online form)
~ Show proof of couple attending two counseling sessions prior to filling out application
~ Obtain Judicial approval
~ Contact Clerk's office to get proper paperwork and more specific instructions.
For Out-of-state Applicants who are unable to be present at Clerk of District Court's Office prior to ceremony:
Fill out the Montana Marriage Application before a Clerk of District Court or a Notary Public in your state. The Clerk of District Court or Notary Public that you appear before must swear you in to tell the truth. You must complete boxes 5a through 26d and 32a through 35c. You must also put your signature in Boxes 36a and 36b. Either the Clerk of District Court or the Notary Public must complete boxes 37 and 38 and affix their seal thereto.
After completing the marriage application, send the following to the Gallatin County Clerk of District Court, 615 South 16th Street, Room 302, Bozeman, MT 59715:
1. Completed Montana Marriage Application, signed by both bride and groom and either the Clerk of District Court or a Notary Public with their seal.
2. Informed Consent/Waiver of Requirement of Blood Test form signed by both the bride and groom.
3. $53 for the license fee. (Money Order only - no personal checks)
4. Statement of how to proceed when license is complete. At your request, we can:
~ mail the license to you if you provide a self-adddressed, stamped envelope
~ give it to someone you designate to pick it up for you.
When we receive the documents, we will then issue a Montana Marriage License for you to get married within the State of Montana. You must come to Montana and be married within 180 days. After that time, the application expires and you would have to reapply.
Obtaining a Copy of Your Marriage License
Copies are available at the Clerk of District Court's office.
Cost: regular copy $5.00, a certified copy for official use $7.00
How to Obtain In Person or In Writing
> Include a self-addressed, stamped envelope if request is In Writing
> Provide your full names (maiden name for the bride)
> Provide date of marriage
> Request regular or certified copy
> Provide appropriate fee - can be cash, check or money order made payable to
Clerk of Court.